Balancing the need to use technology and not let technology use us (if not overwhelm us) is a frequent theme of imagesmy posts. I like to pride myself on the fact I am in the minority in not having a smart phone up against my ear all day long, nor do I even text! (When you can type pretty well, why go backward with only your thumb?)

But at the risk of sounding like a know-it-all, the truth is I am probably more addicted to technology than I like to think. I am just more addicted to it in different ways than some of us, like checking Facebook and LinkedIn more than I need to. Of course, this “interruption” can occur during any of the day it seems, be it work OR play.

Next week I am going to “put my money where my mouth is” as the saying goes, and see just how UN-addicted (or addicted!) I really am. We’re going camping in northern Wisconsin, and I’m not talking about a travel trailer or motor home in which you really don’t get away from it all, but you “bring it all” (like your TV, videos, etc.) with you!

images (1)As we’ve done before, although not in a few years, we’re “going off the grid” with no electricity or a typical shower. We’ll pump our own water, which will include heating it up with our propane stove for a shower of sorts. We’ll use that same stove for some meals, and we’ll collect wood and cook over a wood fire, too. We DO have a pop-up camper, and not tents, so we’re not quite as “primitive” as some outdoorsmen.

Still sound crazy, you say? Maybe. But for some of us, it’s a great way to really connect with nature and a simpler life… Reading a good book. Going for a hike. Swimming. Listening to birds during the day and loons on the lake at night. We plan on being truly “unplugged.”

But how long will we be able to stay unplugged? Maybe I’m more addicted to social media than I care to admit, and I’ll REALLY miss my computer! Perhaps my wife is more addicted to her iPad than she thinks … It could be that “getting away from it all” will get old before we think, and we’ll long for civilization and our gadgets sooner than we might believe we will. All I know for sure is that we’re going to find out soon enough!

