I have a short post I’d like to share that I call, “Remembering My Dad on Veterans Day.”  My dad served in the Pacific Theater during World War II – more specifically, in China, India and Burma. Like millions of other veterans, when he got home he wanted to put the war in the past and focus on his wife, job and starting a family, which he did quite well I might add.

It’s funny that when I think of my dad (he died in 2007) I think a lot about his service in the U.S. Army because I never served in the military. Maybe that shouldn’t be so surprising because some of the lessons he taught me about his experiences in the War had more to do with life, than with the military.

They included: Be grateful for having food on the table and don’t waste food because he saw impoverished Indians rummaging through the scraps of foods his fellow soldiers threw away…while it was discarded by them,  it was plenty good enough for the natives’ empty bellies. If you didn’t like a certain food – fine – then say “pass.”  But if you put it on the table, you were supposed to eat it.  Period.

He also taught when I was young that, if I ever did join he military, to follow this motto to stay out of trouble… “Eyes and ears open, mouth shut.”  Actually, I found out that observing an adage like that can save you from a whole heap of trouble in life regardless of the exact situation!

Did I ever thank my dad for everything he taught me? I think so, but to be honest I don’t really remember for sure.  One thing I DO know for sure is that when Taps were played at his funeral in April 2007, I was never prouder of him. What veteran has made an impact on YOUR life?  Thank him today!

