September 11, 2001 is one of those dates that many of us will never forget. I was working at a nonprofit agency in central Wisconsin at the time, and I vividly recall what I “wanted to believe” – that a small Piper or Cessna airplane had slammed into one of the Twin Towers.

Even when I learned it was a jet, and not a small plane, I still could not fathom that the Twin Towers had crumbled.  It took hours for the realization of what happened to sink in. I lost my job as a result of the economic fallout later that year – but that was minor compared to the thousands who lost loved ones on that fateful day.

Where were YOU on September 11, 2001?  What kind of impact did 9/11 have on your life? Or maybe your individual career or your profession?

Jot down a few thoughts in the comment section above, and you may be eligible to receive a free copy of “Rebuilding Trust in the Workplace” by Dennis and Michelle Rina or “Caregiver’s Path for Compassionate Decision Making” by Viki Kind.  (Two winners will be able to decide which title they’d prefer.) These books have now been awarded, but interested individuals may still feel free to post comments about their 9/11 experiences.